司法工作组

开玩笑瑜伽正义工作组 (JTF) 的使命是保持 KAY 的包容性:在组织上、在教材范围内和触手可及。 为此,我们致力于继续加强我们的反种族主义和反歧视行动,并不断做出改变,以充分体现瑜伽的教义。

Kidding Around Yoga 包括世界各地的人们,具有不同的国籍、文化、语言、种族、种族、经济背景、宗教信仰、精神传统、政治观点、年龄、性别、性取向以及身体、感知和心理能力。 我们相信瑜伽适合每个人,不会因差异而歧视。 事实上,我们庆祝多样性,并将宽容和接受作为我们实践的一部分。

想成为 JTF 任务的一部分吗? 做捐献! 提交您的 PayPal 付款时,请在说明中注明“司法专案组捐款”。

当前项目

正义奖学金

正义奖学金计划旨在奖励那些希望将瑜伽和压力管理带给儿童但缺乏经济能力来支付认证培训费用的个人。 每个月都会颁发奖学金。

和平、爱、正义 T 恤筹款活动

和平衬衫的所有收益都进入正义基金。 买一件衬衫。

凯日

世界各地的 KAY 教师在 15 月 XNUMX 日庆祝一年一度的 KAY DAY! 邀请所有 KAY 教师亲自或以虚拟方式教授特殊的捐赠课程,并将任何收益捐赠给 KAY 的正义工作组。 

社区外展

远大的梦想! KAY 希望支持您的使命,将瑜伽和正念带给全世界的孩子,尤其是那些可能无法参加 KAY 课程的家庭。 如果您想为低经济地区(特别是获得 Title 1 资助的学区)的儿童教授一门或一系列课程,KAY 愿意提供帮助! 申请 KAYmunity 赠款以获得资金,以换取需要社区的领导班。

只需尽可能详细地填写申请表。 KAY 的司法工作组将审查您的提交,如果被接受,将提供资助。 远大的梦想! 你将在哪里分享你的光、你的知识和你的创造力? 我们可以一起改变孩子们的生活。

课程审核

JTF 在 KAY 社区志愿者的支持下,已经完成了对 Teachable 中大部分课程的审核。 已进行更改以反映我们的使命和核心价值观。 最终,所有课程和材料都将接受审核。

培训

JTF 为 KAY 团队和 KAY 社区组织了培训和继续教育,以支持围绕正义、偏见、不平等以及如何创建一个让每个孩子都能接触到瑜伽的 KAY 社区的教育。 我们的专业在线课程 KAY4All 已免费提供给每一位 KAY 老师,以促进和培养包容性

源起

司法工作组于 2020 年 2020 月正式成立,以响应人们对不公正如何在整个社会的系统和结构中发挥作用的更大认识。 Kidding Around Yoga 致力于更彻底地了解这些机制,并做出改变以减少伤害并更好地反映 KAY 的使命和价值观。 以下是我们的原始声明和我们从 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月开始的原始承诺。

我们与你站在一起,我们的黑人家庭。 在 Kidding Around Yoga,我们是一个全球性的多元文化社区,致力于将瑜伽教学带给全世界的儿童和家庭。 我们的愿望一直是以尊严、尊重和关怀对待所有人。 我们认识到愿望和意图不同于影响。 我们的善意并没有减少我们缺乏理解的影响。

我们承认我们组织内的黑人和有色人种所遭受的伤害。 我们一直对其中的方式视而不见 白人至上文化 一直在我们的材料、结构和通信中发挥作用。 我们开始意识到 BIPOC 在多大程度上受到伤害、支持不足、忽视、解雇、被要求免费进行情感劳动,以及没有以我们渴望拥有所有人的方式举行,我们深感谦卑和难过。 我们感谢那些继续向我们指出我们的盲点的人,即使我们没有倾听或尊重他们带来的智慧。 我们抱歉。 我们知道这还不够。 我们致力于加强我们的反种族主义行动,继续深入研究我们的结构和个人偏见,并不断做出改变以体现瑜伽的教义。

这是一个醒来、发声、站起来的时候。 现在是为正义而战并教育那些仍处于黑暗中的人的时候。 每个黑人的生活都很重要。 我们都认识到这些不是新问题,但这是一个新的机会,可以在很大程度上成为变革的盟友和推动者。 让我们不要躲避这一挑战或等待其他人承担重任。 我们每个人都有发言权和责任,为建设一个更美好、更公正、更和平的世界而战。 在我们倾听、学习、改变以及做我们最擅长的事情时加入我们:与全球儿童分享古老而强大的瑜伽和冥想练习。

除了 KAY 支持将瑜伽带给所有儿童的方式外,我们还特别认可并承诺以下几点:

  • 我们的材料和内容需要审查和更新。 一些现有内容包含植根于我们现在意识到的种族主义结构的想法或主题。 这些都造成了伤害和歧视,我们致力于彻底审查和采取行动步骤。 我们将提供有关我们对这些材料的行动的最新信息。
  • 我们也认识到,我们还没有完全理解瑜伽的文化挪用是什么样的。 我们知道,在某些情况下,我们使用瑜伽的方式已经削弱了它的根源,并对它产生的文化造成了伤害。 有鉴于此,我们正在对我们的材料和营销进行深入审查,并将根据审查结果对我们的行动进行更新。
  • 我们还认识到,要求我们的黑人教师分享他们为引导自己度过这些“艰难时期”所做的工作,被许多教师认为是麻木不仁。 我们无意以这种方式造成伤害,但我们理解这是情绪劳动,教师需要为此得到补偿。 我们将补偿我们呼吁在此过程中支持我们的任何老师。
  • 我们承认 KAY 内部缺乏黑人领导力,并正在积极扩大领导团队,以纳入和提升黑人的智慧和声音。 本周,我们很高兴欢迎 Shawandra Ford 和 Camelia Brown 加入领​​导团队。 在接下来的几周内,我们将继续扩大我们的团队。
  • 我们正在改进我们的 KAY4ALL 培训,以包括具体的反种族主义培训。 我们将强制要求并包括所有学员和培训师。 与此同时,KAY Leadership 自己也在接受反种族主义培训,这将持续进行。
  • 我们正在分配资源以支持 的奖学金! 为 BIPOC 学员提供资金,资助服务欠缺社区的课程,并为支持反种族主义的组织提供财政支持,并帮助 BIPOC 家庭可以接触和使用瑜伽。

发展史

以下是 JTF 自成立以来一直参与的具体行动和项目。

内容

  • 已完成课程审核:OKAY、EduKAY、KAY4ALL、在家中的 KAY、青少年 KAY、KAY-C、KAYNATOMY
  • 正在进行的课程审核:PREKAY、Accessible KAY、Raja Yoga、OYY
  • 歌曲回顾和更新:每个小细胞的新版本,退休的疯狂猴子,编辑歌曲以删除“秘密花园”,回顾其他几首歌曲
  • 删除了在文字和营销中使用“OM”以纪念其根源
  • 删除了“愚蠢的 OMS”并替换为“OM 热身”
  • 将“秘密花园”改为“和平花园”
  • 在所有可教课程中添加了提交表格,以允许参与者提供反馈,以便我们可以持续审查材料

奖学金

  • 奖学金基金成立,申请程序公开。
  • 已提交数十份申请。 每月审查申请。
  • 截至2021年XNUMX月,已有两名奖学金获得者完成了KAY教师培训!

培训

  • KAY 团队成员参加了许多关于正义、偏见和压迫的培训。
  • KAY4ALL 已免费提供给所有 KAY 教师,以支持教学中的包容性。
  • KAY 为 KAY 教师、培训师和社区成员赞助了许多关于正义、特权和压迫的培训和聚会。
  • 妈妈 KAY 每周提供直播冥想,以支持 KAY 社区进行自己的练习、理解和自我反省。

筹款

  • 已收到多项个人捐款。
  • KAY4ALL 课程的所有销售收入直接进入正义基金。
  • Pooja Virani 研讨会的收益:瑜伽世界中的特权和压迫直接进入了正义基金。
  • 和平、爱、正义 T 恤的所有销售额都直接进入正义基金。
  • KAY Day 的收益将全部捐给正义基金。
  • 与妈妈一起冥想 KAY:哈里斯提供冥想指导,以换取对正义基金的捐款。

社区外展

  • JTF 于 15 月 XNUMX 日组织 KAY 日。这一天,全世界的 KAY 老师都受邀教授一个主题为
  • 和平、爱与正义。 这些课程的所有收入都将捐赠给正义基金。
  • 教师申请资金教授 CommuniKAY 课程的程序正在最终确定。

准备好参与 JTF 任务了吗? 做捐献! 提交您的 PayPal 付款时,请在说明中注明“司法专案组捐款”。

我们邀请您就司法工作组的工作与我们联系。

"*“ 指出要求的区域

姓名:*

免费研讨会录音:

将正念带入课堂

闲暇时观看!

免费研讨会录音:

孩子们的放松和冥想

闲暇时观看!

Kidding Around Yoga Justice Information

 

Justice Task Force

 

The mission of the Kidding Around Yoga Justice Task Force (JTF) is to keep KAY inclusive:  organizationally, within teaching materials, and in reach. To that end, we are committed to continuing to strengthen our anti-racist and anti-discrimination actions, and to make ongoing changes in order to fully embody the teachings of yoga.

Kidding Around Yoga includes people all over the world, with different nationalities, cultures, languages, ethnicities, races, economic backgrounds, religious faiths, spiritual traditions, political views, ages, genders, sexual orientations, and physical, perceptual and mental abilities. We believe yoga is for every body and do not discriminate based on differences. In fact we celebrate diversity, and teach tolerance and acceptance as part of our practice. 

Want to be part of the JTF mission? Make a donation! When submitting your PayPal payment, please put “Justice Task Force Donation” in the description.

Current Projects

 

  • Justice Scholarships

The Justice Scholarship Initiative was created to award individuals who have the desire to bring yoga and stress management to children but lack the financial means to pay for the certification training. Scholarships are awarded every month. Follow this link to apply.

  • Peace, Love, Justice T-Shirt Fundraiser

All proceeds from the Peace Shirt go into the Justice Fund. Purchase a shirt.

  • KAY Day

KAY teachers around the world will celebrate the first annual KAY DAY on April 15th! All KAY teachers are invited to teach a special donation class, in person or virtually, and donate any proceeds to KAY’s Justice Task Force. Find out more.

  • Community Outreach

Dream BIG! KAY wants to support your mission to bring yoga and mindfulness to children all over the world, especially to those families who might not otherwise have access to a KAY class. If you’d like to teach a class or series of classes to children in low economic areas (specifically in school districts that receive Title 1 funding), KAY would like to help! Apply for a KAYmunity grant to receive funds in exchange for leading classes in communities of need. Simply fill out the application with as much detail as possible. KAY’s Justice Task Force will review your submission and respond with a funding offer if accepted. Dream BIG! Where will you share your light, your knowledge and your creativity? Together, we can make a difference in the lives of children.

  • Course Audits

The JTF, along with the support of volunteer efforts from the KAY community, has completed audits of the majority of courses in Teachable. Changes have been made to reflect our mission and core values. Eventually, all courses and materials will undergo audits.

  • Training

The JTF has organized training and continuing education for Team KAY, as well as the KAY community to support education around justice, bias, inequality, and how to create a KAY community that offers every child access to yoga. Our specialized online course, KAY4All, has been provided to every KAY teacher, free of charge, to promote and foster inclusivity

 

Origins

 

The Justice Task Force was officially formed in June of 2020, in response to a greater awareness of how injustice plays out in systems and structures throughout society. Kidding Around Yoga committed to understanding these mechanisms more thoroughly, and to making changes that would reduce the harm and better reflect KAY’s mission and values. Below is our original statement and our original commitments from June 2020.

We stand with you, our Black family. At Kidding Around Yoga, we are a worldwide multicultural community committed to bringing the teaching of yoga to children and families worldwide. Our aspirations have always been to treat all humans with dignity, respect and care. We recognize that aspirations and intentions are different from impact. Our good intentions have not diminished the impact of our lack of understanding. 

We acknowledge the harm experienced by Black people and people of color within our organization. We have been blind to the ways in which white supremacy culture has been at play within our materials, structures and communications. We are deeply humbled and saddened to start to realize the extent to which BIPOC have been harmed, undersupported, ignored, dismissed, asked to perform emotional labor for free, and otherwise not held in the ways we aspire to hold everyone. We appreciate those who continued to point out to us our blindspots, even when we failed to listen or honor the wisdom they were bringing. We apologize. We know it is not enough. We are committing to strengthening our anti-racist actions, to continue looking deeper into our structures and personal biases, and to make ongoing changes to embody the teachings of yoga.

This is a time to wake up, to speak up, to stand up. This is a time to fight for what is right and educate those who are still in the dark. Every Black life matters. We all recognize that these are not new issues, but this IS a new opportunity to be allies and agents of change, in large and small ways. Let us not hide from this challenge or wait for someone else to do the heavy lifting. We each have a voice and a responsibility to fight for a better, more just and peaceful world. Join us as we listen, as we learn, as we change, and as we do what we do best: share the ancient and powerful practice of yoga and meditation with children across the globe.

In addition to the ways in which KAY supports bringing yoga to all children, we specifically recognize and commit to the following:

► Our materials and content need to be reviewed and updated. Some existing content contains ideas or themes rooted in racist structures we are now becoming aware of. These have caused harm and discrimination, and we are committed to a thorough review and action steps. We will give updates as to our actions regarding these materials. 

► We also recognize that we have not fully understood what cultural appropriation of yoga looks like. We understand that, in certain instances, we have used yoga in a way that has diminished its roots and caused harm to the culture from which it arises. We are undergoing a deep review of our materials and marketing, in this light, and will give updates as to our actions as a result of this review.

► We also recognize that asking our Black teachers to share what they are doing to guide themselves through these “trying times” was felt as insensitive by many teachers. It was not our intention to cause harm in this way, but we understand how this is emotional labor, and that teachers need to be compensated for this. We will compensate any teachers we call upon to support us in this process.

► We acknowledge the lack of Black leadership within KAY, and are actively expanding the leadership team to include and elevate Black wisdom and voices. This week, we are delighted to welcome Shawandra Ford and Camelia Brown onto the leadership team. We will continue to expand our team in the coming weeks.

 ► We are revamping our KAY4ALL training to include specific anti-racist training. We will make it mandatory and included for all trainees and trainers. Meanwhile, KAY Leadership is undergoing anti-racist trainings themselves, which will be ongoing.

► We are in the process of allocating resources to support scholarships for BIPOC trainees, to fund classes in underserved communities, and to offer financial support to organizations upholding anti-racism and helping make yoga accessible and available to BIPOC families.

 

History

 

Below are specific actions and projects the JTF has been engaged with since its formation.

Content

  • Course Audits Completed: OKAY, EduKAY, KAY4ALL, KAY in the Home, Teen KAY, KAY-C, KAYNATOMY
  • Course Audits in Process: PREKAY, Accessible KAY, Raja Yoga, OYY
  • Song Review and Updates: New Version of Every Little Cell, retired Crazy Monkey, edited songs to remove ‘Secret Garden’, reviewing several other songs
  • Removed the use of ‘OM’ in play on words and marketing in order to honor its roots
  • Removed ‘Silly OMS’ and replaced with ‘OM Warmups’
  • Changed ‘Secret Garden’ to ‘Peaceful Garden’
  • Added a submission form in all Teachable Courses to allow for feedback from participants, so that we can review materials in an ongoing manner

Scholarships

  • The Scholarship Fund was established, and the process for applying is open.
  • Dozens of applications have been submitted. Applications are reviewed on a monthly basis.
  • As of February 2021, two scholarship recipients have completed KAY teacher training!

Training

  • Team KAY members have taken part in a number of trainings on justice, bias, and oppression.
  • KAY4ALL has been made available for free to ALL KAY teachers, in order to support inclusivity in teaching.
  • KAY has sponsored a number of trainings and gatherings for KAY teachers, trainers, and community members on justice, privilege, and oppression. 
  • Momma KAY has offered weekly livestreamed meditations to support the KAY community in their own practice, understanding, and self-reflection.

Fundraising

  • A number of personal donations have been received.
  • Proceeds from all sales of the KAY4ALL course go directly into the Justice Fund.
  • Proceeds from Pooja Virani’s workshop: Privilege and Oppression in the Yoga World went directly into the Justice Fund.
  • All sales from the Peace, Love, Justice T-Shirt go directly into the Justice Fund.
  • Proceeds from KAY Day will all go to the Justice Fund.
  • Meditate with Momma KAY: Haris is offering Meditation Instruction in exchange for donations to the Justice Fund.

Community Outreach

  • The JTF is organizing KAY Day for April 15, 2021. On this day, all KAY teachers around the world are invited to teach a class themed around Peace, Love, and Justice. All income from these classes will be donated to the Justice Fund.
  • The process for teachers to apply for funds to teach CommuniKAY classes is being finalized.

 

Ready to be part of the JTF mission? Make a donation! When submitting your PayPal payment, please put “Justice Task Force Donation” in the description.

Please email info@kiddingaroundyoga.com if you wish to reach out to us in regards to the work of the Justice Task Force.

 
 
Translate »