你知道他们怎么说 假设……

我不会说完这句话。 但我会强调,当我们教瑜伽时,不要对我们的学生做出假设(或者就此而言,对我们在任何其他情况下遇到的任何其他人)做出假设是多么重要。

如果你花时间和空间去真正注意你自己的思想——你自己的想法和模式——你可能会对你所看到的感到惊讶。 我们保持持续的评论 多样关于我们的每一次经历。 我们不断地感知我们的世界,然后对我们所看到的做出结论。 例如,你能找出你看到一张桌子和你在脑海中给它贴上“桌子”的标签吗? 为什么我们不直接看它,看看它的品质,而不这么快给它贴上标签呢? 这就是我们的思维方式。

我们也对人这样做。 我们看到一个人,会自动想出一个关于他们的生活、技能、背景的完整故事,不管它是什么。 当我们将这些人置于具有与其关联的特定属性的身份中时,尤其如此。 例如,我们看到一个男性化的孩子,我们立即给他们贴上“男孩”的标签,然后假设他们是狂野的、好斗的,或者需要大量的活动,这样他们就不会太紧张。 或者,我们可以看到一个具有某种肤色的孩子,并假设他们了解梵语或熟悉印度教或瑜伽的其他方面。 我们使用这些 偏见 不断地和潜意识地。 这不像是我们故意计算我们能做出的所有判断。 它只是作为思想的基线发生。

然而,我们需要更深入地研究这个基线,否则我们可能只会造成伤害。 有时,基于这些持续不断的评论或看法,我们对不同孩子的行为可能会略有不同。 即使我们打算平等对待每个孩子,我们也没有。 一个孩子继续摆姿势或抱怨他们有多努力或不参与任何事情,我们可能会感到有点生气或疲倦,我们的行为更多地是在操纵和改变情况,而不是给孩子空间。 我们不知道的是,孩子患有慢性疾病,并且几乎一直处于疼痛之中。 知道这一点,当他们中断时,我们会有不同的感觉吗? 多样性-2上课到处乱跑和抱怨?

虽然改变我们微妙的攻击性可能需要时间,但可以与它们合作。 当我们在生活和思想中占据更多空间时(实际上每天练习瑜伽和冥想),这个空间让我们看得更清楚。 我们可以开始看到我们微妙的植入偏见以及它们如何影响我们的人际关系、我们的教学和我们的沟通。 我们不必为这些想法感到内疚。 它们是社会条件、文化信仰体系和运作方式以及几个世纪的痛苦和困惑的结果。 然而,我们必须承诺为我们在使这些事情永久化的过程中承担责任。

瑜伽的基础是宽容、同情和接受。 我们在这里为所有儿童(也希望所有成年人)创造安全的空间。 为了创造那个空间,我们必须练习意识和敏感性。 我教的孩子来自如此多的宗教、文化、种族和经济背景,跨越性别谱系,具有不同的性取向(或不同取向的父母),以及心理和身体能力,我几乎无法一一列举。 即使您所在的地区不像我的地区(旧金山湾区)那样多样化,未来 20 年也会如此。

  • 总是问,“我不知道什么?” 这有助于创造与好奇心互动的空间,并降低假设的粘性。
  • 不要假设任何关于你的学生的事情。 一个看起来像男孩的孩子可能不会被认为是男孩。 看起来身体健康的孩子可能患有慢性病。 看起来属于某种文化或种族的孩子可能根本不属于。 父母也是一样。 谁说妈妈是唯一一个想和宝宝一起练瑜伽的人? 爸爸和我呢? 还是奶奶和我? 还是其他保姆?
  • 对文化规范保持敏感。 在某些文化中,直视某人被认为是不礼貌的。 强迫学生这样做可能是非常有害的。
  • 对创伤敏感。 诸如抚摸、闭眼,甚至想象某个爱你的人之类的事情对某些人来说可能会非常激烈和触发。
  • 如果您的信仰——政治、宗教或其他信仰——不能容忍某些 一起生活方式、其他宗教信仰或关于他人的任何事情,请务必将它们与您的瑜伽教学区分开来。 瑜伽本身就是关于从这种坚固性中解放出来的。 因此,以身作则至关重要。

记住我们为什么在这里——为孩子们创造安全、充满爱的空间,让他们体验自己聪明的心灵和思想、自己的潜力,并学习成为理智、富有同情心和宽容的成年人所需的技能和工具。 要了解更多关于包容性、多样性和让每个孩子在您的瑜伽课上受到欢迎的信息,Kidding Around Yoga's 凯4ALL 在线课程是我强烈推荐的绝佳资源。

就像你在这里读到的一样? 还有很多东西可以探索和学习 在瑜伽中开玩笑. 查看我们的网站,了解我们的现场和在线教师培训、瑜伽联盟批准的 95 小时 RCYT 培训、专业在线课程、原创音乐、商品、 播客, 超越! KAY 甚至提供了一个 6 小时的研讨会,旨在教学校教育工作者和家庭学校家庭如何将瑜伽和冥想带入他们的课堂 (爱杜凯以及专门针对家庭的在线课程,将这些做法融入家庭的日常生活中(正念育儿).

免费研讨会录音:

将正念带入课堂

闲暇时观看!

免费研讨会录音:

孩子们的放松和冥想

闲暇时观看!

You Know What They Say About Assumptions…

You know what they say about assumptions…

I won’t finish the sentence. But I will emphasize how important it is not to make assumptions about our students when we are teaching yoga (or for that matter, about any other human being we encounter in any other situation).

If you take the time and space to really notice your own mind- your own thoughts and patterns- you may be surprised by what you see. We maintain a running commentary diversityabout every experience we have. We are constantly perceiving our world, and then leaping to conclusions about what we see. For instance, can you find the gap between when you see a table, and when you label it “table” in your mind? Why don’t we just look at it and see its qualities without labeling it so quickly? It’s the way our minds are wired.

We do this to people, too. We see a person and automatically come up with an entire story about their life, skills, background, whatever it may be. This is especially true when we are placing these people in identities that have specific attributes associated with them. For instance, we see a masculine-presenting child and we immediately label them “boy” and then assume that they are wild, aggressive, or need a lot of activity so they don’t get too wound up. Alternately we could see a child with a certain color skin and assume they understand Sanskrit or are familiar with Hinduism or other aspects of yoga. We operate with these biases constantly and subconsciously. It’s not like we are purposely tallying up all the judgments we can make. It just happens as a baseline of thought.

We need to take a deeper look at this baseline, however, or we may just be causing harm. Sometimes our behaviors can be subtly different towards different children based on these running commentaries or perceptions. Even if we mean to treat every child equally, we don’t. One child continues to flop out of poses or whine about how hard they are or not participate in anything, and we may feel a little exasperated, or tired and our behavior becomes more about manipulating and changing the situation rather than allowing that child space. What we didn’t know is that child has a chronic illness and is in near constant pain. Knowing that, would we feel differently when they disrupted diversity-2the class by flopping around and complaining?

While it can take time to change our subtle aggressions, it is possible to work with them. When we take more space in our lives and minds (and actually practice yoga and meditation every day), that space allows us to see more clearly. We can start to see our subtle implanted biases and how they affect our relationships, our teaching, and our communication. We don’t have to feel guilty about these thoughts. They are the result of societal conditioning, cultural belief systems and modes of operation, and centuries of pain and confusion. We do however have to commit to taking responsibility for our part in perpetuating these things.

Yoga is based on tolerance, compassion, and acceptance. We are here to create safe spaces for all children (and hopefully all grown-ups, too). In order to create that space, we must practice awareness and sensitivity. I teach kids from so many religions, cultures, races, and economic backgrounds, all across the gender spectrum, with different sexual orientations (or parents with different orientations), and mental and physical abilities, I can hardly list them all. Even if your area isn’t as diverse as mine (the San Francisco Bay Area), it will be in the next 20 years.

  • Always ask, “What don’t I know?” This helps create the space of engaging with curiosity and makes assumptions less sticky.
  • Don’t assume anything about your students. A child who looks like a boy may not identify as a boy. A child who appears to be in good health may have a chronic illness. A child who appears to belong to a certain culture or race may not at all. The same goes for parents. Who says Mommy is the only one who wants yoga with baby? What about Daddy and Me? Or Grandma and Me? Or any other caregiver?
  • Be sensitive to cultural norms. In some cultures, it is considered rude to look at someone directly. Forcing a student to do so may be very harmful.
  • Be sensitive to trauma. Things like touching, eye closing, and even imagining someone who loves you can be very intense and triggering for some people.
  • If you have beliefs- political, religious, or otherwise- that do not tolerate certain togetherelifestyles, other religious beliefs, or anything about another person, be sure to separate those from your yoga teaching. Yoga itself is about liberation from such solidity. Thus teaching by example is crucial.

Remember why we are here – to create safe, loving spaces for children to experience their own brilliant hearts and minds, their own potential, and to learn the skills and tools they need to be sane, compassionate, and tolerant grown-ups. To learn even more about inclusivity, diversity, and making every child welcome in your yoga class, Kidding Around Yoga’s KAY4ALL online course is a wonderful resource that I highly recommend.

Like what you read here? There’s so much MORE to explore and learn with Kidding Around Yoga. Check out our website for our live and online teacher trainings, Yoga Alliance-approved 95-hour RCYT trainings, specialty online courses, original music, merchandise, podcast, and beyond! KAY even offers a 6-hour workshop designed to teach school educators and homeschool families how to bring yoga and meditation right into their classrooms (EduKAYand an online course specifically for families to incorporate these practices into their family’s routine (Mindful Parenting).

0 Comments

Recent Posts

Browse by Category

Mindful Conversations Podcast

Join hosts Kristi Fischer and Kelly Winkler, Kidding Around Yoga trainers, moms, and educators, for some lighthearted and insightful conversations, where we take a deep dive into all things Kids Yoga and mindfulness.

Related Posts

Get To Know Your Brain!

Get To Know Your Brain!

It's funny, isn't it? The place we spend the most time, day and night, is the exact same place we know the least about. Our brain is the ultimate mystery. The bunch of gooey cells and invisible stringy nerves that inhabit our skulls control EVERYTHING in our lives....

read more
FREE WORKSHOP RECORDING:

Bringing Mindfulness into the Classroom

Watch at your leisure!

FREE WORKSHOP RECORDING:

Relaxation & Meditation for Kids

Watch at your leisure!